Who We Are

The Friends of the Markham Museum

Board of Directors 2020-2021

Wendy Kadlovski, President & Chair

Lorne Smith, Treasurer

Dianne Azzarello, Volunteer Committee Chair

Sue Smitko, Book Committee Chair

Mayor Frank Scarpitti

Councillor Karen Rea

Councillor Andrew Keyes

Jill ten Cate

Bill Crothers

Christopher Hurezeanu

Anna Masci

Martha Mingay

The Friends of Markham Museum is a “not for profit” registered charity established by the City of Markham to be an advocate for our museum in the community.  The directors of the Foundation are appointed from within the community and serve without remuneration.  The Board was created to facilitate and foster the involvement of volunteers wanting to actively benefit from this cultural treasure.  With the City growing and changing, the Board has an important advisory role in representing community interests in regards to the Museum site and Markham’s cultural past and future.

The Members of The Friends of Markham Museum are comprised of Members of Council. It is these Members of Council who are responsible for appointing the Board of Directors.

Members of the Board include:

  • The Mayor of the City of Markham as an ex officio voting Director;
  • A maximum of 2 Councillors from the Council of the City of Markham;
  • Members of the community at large.

Board members serve for 3 years; their tenure is staggered to allow for new membership every year.  The Board holds a minimum of 6 meetings annually plus an annual meeting.  The Board also establishes standing committees to undertake and assist the Board in its business.

You can contact The Friends of Markham Museum at


Interested in Joining Us?

If you would like to apply to join the Board of the Friends of the Markham Museum, please fill out the form below.

Recent Posts